Kate Considers Spencer’s View

Kate never gave Spencer’s situation a thought. She had only thought of herself. She swallowed her guilt and it was a minute before she could respond. “I’m sorry. I know it isn’t easy for you, either.” She wiped away fresh tears with her hand. She gestured back to the bathroom. “That’s not like me,” she whispered and started crying harder. She slid down the wall, plopping to the floor.

Spencer put Buttons down gently and sat next to Kate, wrapping his arm around her. Buttons tried licking her tears. Poor guy was as bewildered as they were. “I didn’t think so,” he said, tears running down his own face. “But I better not ever catch you doing anything that stupid ever again,” he said, his voice hoarse.

“I won’t; I promise. I’m so sorry.” She nodded her head in silence. Spencer had imagined this moment many times, but under much happier circumstances. Kate sat up and said, “I need you to go. I can’t deal with this right now.” She rubbed Buttons’ back, almost in a trance.

“But what about Sarah?” Spencer was a little worried from Kate’s lack of concern for the orphan.

“I don’t care about Sarah right now! She isn’t my problem. She’s fine where she is.” Kate got up and stalked to the door. “Now go. I’m done with this mess.”

Spencer’s heart dropped to the floor. This can’t be happening. “But Sarah is left all alone.”

“I don’t care. I didn’t make this mess and I don’t have to clean it up. My so-called boyfriend has turned out to be a jerk and I’m so mad at him that if he weren’t dead already I’d kill him. And I’m just as mad at you for not telling me!” She yanked open the door and waited.

Spencer let out his breath and slowly walked through the door, worried for a little girl in Iowa left without any parents. Spencer had no choice but to leave. He would have to convince Kate somehow over the next few weeks to understand her responsibilities and to help her the best way he could.

Piece of cake.

****

Until next time,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

