Kate and Spencer Watch the News

“Kate, honey, the news is on. Kate,” Spencer whispered. He stretched on the bed behind her, wincing at the squeak his movement made. He gently rubbed her shoulder, trying to rouse her. “What?” she asked, turning over.

“The news is on, do you want to watch?”

She nodded and got up and stretched out her arms. “Did everybody go home?” she whispered.

“Yeah. Jen left some dessert though. Do you feel up to eating some?”

“Sure, it looked good.” She got up and stretched. “I have this awesome new robe to put on first.”

“Oh, I can’t wait to see it,” he whispered.

Kate gave him a small smile. “I’ll be out in a minute.”

Spencer nodded, and left the door open so she had enough light to change. In the kitchen Spencer scooped out some sort of creamy chocolaty mousse with whipped topping spread across the top. He was just returning the rest to the refrigerator when Kate walked in. “This might make me feel better,” she said tasting a bite.

“I hope so, Kate. Nice robe,” he tried to lighten the mood.

“Thanks, this really nice guy gave it to me for my birthday.”

“I’m glad you like it.” He took a bite of his dessert, “Yummy stuff.” They walked out to the living room and sat down in front of the television.

Before Kate turned up the volume, she said, “Thanks for cleaning up and sending the guests home.” She took a deep breath. “You always seem to be around when I need you,” she wiped tears off her face. “What if I have to leave her?” Kate swallowed a lump in her throat.

Spencer put down his plate. “I don’t know, Kate. Hopefully it won’t get that bad. But with the cuts already made, and now this, the military is already stretched pretty thin.”

“That’s what I’m afraid of. I can’t be a good mom if I’m half a world away.”

“One day at a time for now.” Spencer put his arm around Kate’s shoulder and squeezed but he wasn’t sure she felt his encouragement.

“Jen said to let her know if you needed anything and that she’d be praying for you. I’m sure we’re all going to be doing more of that as the days go on.”

Kate nodded, not really hearing what Spencer said before she turned up the volume and they watched the news. She wrinkled her forehead with worry. Her dessert sat on the table half finished.

****

Having fun writing,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

