Kate Promises Spencer her Heart

Spencer announced, “I want to talk.”

“What about?” Kate’s attention tuned into Spencer’s serious tone. She set her fork on her half-finished plate.

“Lots of things.” He reached across the table and held her hand, squeezing it gently. “I don’t want to rush you and I’m sorry if I’ve been a bit pushy lately. I don’t mean to be.”

“Spence, it’s fine. I have no regrets if you’re wondering. I’ve been thinking it would be nice for Sarah to have a daddy. And to have a husband.”

“Go on, I’m listening.” He rubbed her thumb with his own, encouraged at what he was hearing.

“I think I’m falling in love with you Spencer, but I’m just not all the way over John. Though, I think I somehow realized we wouldn’t ever marry if given the chance. I don’t know why, it’s just a feeling.”

Spencer looked surprised but kept quiet.

Kate took a deep breath before continuing. “I don’t know how long is too long, but I need a few months to grieve before I’d be ready to consider marriage. Can you wait a little longer?”

Spencer swallowed a sip of his juice and set the cup on the table. “Kate, I’ve waited this long, a few more months won’t matter. And I know you’re not going to get over John overnight. But I want your promise that I’ll be the one you marry. Can you give me that at least?”

Kate swallowed tears. She nodded, overwhelmed by his love and consideration. She gave in to quiet tears and Spencer came around the table and knelt to his knees so he could pull her into his arms. Softly stroking her hair, he said, “I love you and I’ll wait for you as long as you need me to. And I promise not to violate your purity before we’re married.”

Kate put her arms around him and hugged him with what strength she had, loving him all the more for his honorable intentions and his willingness to wait for her. She cried until she had no tears left. “I love you, Spencer,” she whispered.

“Oh, Kate. I love you so much.” He kissed the top of her head and held her until she reluctantly let go. Then he got up so she could finish eating. Kate wiped her eyes. “Thank you, Spencer.”

He nodded and took his dishes to the kitchen.

****

This post concludes chapter 11 of Heir Force.  Stay tuned!

Until next time,

Michelle

Leave a Reply

